CATHSWAP
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra?

+2
dianndej
Deeann
6 posters

Go down

Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra? Empty Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra?

Post  Deeann Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:21 pm

Hi all. We just completed Teaching Textbooks Alg. 1 but were asked if we have experience using a graphing calculator by public school relative. Does anyone know if that's required in Alg. 2 or college. We did fine without one!!!

Thanks,
D in AZ
Deeann
Deeann

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2008-07-11

Back to top Go down

Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra? Empty Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra?

Post  dianndej Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:16 pm

As a teacher, I generally introduce graphing calculators in Algebra II, especially if the curriculum covers the trigonometric functions. However, I always teach my students how to do the problem first, then how to check their answer on the calculator.

I teach in two community colleges. Unfortunately, too many students are "calculator dependent". With the introduction of the TI 89, which can do so many things including integration, many students don't want to do any of the work on their own - which I do not allow. pirat

Diann

dianndej

Number of posts : 14
Registration date : 2008-06-28

Back to top Go down

Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra? Empty Re: Has anyone used a graphing calculator for algebra?

Post  ojmom Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:08 pm

You could do most of Algebra 2 without one, but after that you have to have one and be able to use it correctly (Trig, Pre-Calculus & Calculus). With the exception of students taking low level math courses at a community college, colleges would expect students to be proficient in using a graphing calculator.

ojmom

Number of posts : 28
Registration date : 2008-07-01

Back to top Go down